User login

Who's online

There are currently 20 users and 62 guests online.

Online users

  • ronnie
  • Badlonspb
  • NWarty
  • jusbytheclown
  • Guglielmo
  • tctvjohn
  • Just another voice
  • Rob Richards
  • Thomas 27
  • earball

Support OlyBlog

OlyBlog is run by volunteers who care about Olympia. If you like what we're doing, make a donation:

OlyBlog is powered by:

Who's new

  • Ron
  • memetic_alchemy
  • cfs
  • Badlonspb
  • davefromcarolina

    Creative Commons License
 
Submitted by Sarah on Sat, 02/18/2006 - 10:56am.
The Neo Nazi group, National Socialist Party, currently states on their regional site: "Hardcore Olympia Wa. Actions this Monday!"

The NSM is known to play games, plant false leads, change announcements. We as community members can remain calmly alert and aware.

Update 8:30PM, Saturday: Mr. Ramsey has changed his scroll to "Hardcore Olympia Wa. Actions this Wednesday!".

Regional NSM site by Mr. Ramsey, viewer beware.

»

Why are these Neo-Nazi NSM'er

Why are these Neo-Nazi NSM'ers pestering and harassing Olympia?
»

We don't know. Possibiliti

We don't know.

Possibilities:

  • Symbolic, this is a state capital
  • Great photo ops
  • Fits into N.W. Migration philosophy and yearnings, some white supremacists believe that the N.W. should be a white homeland
  • To take a stand against what they see as white genocide, perpetrated here supposedly by equal rights legislation etc.
»

How can we encourage them to

How can we encourage them to leave us alone? How can we encourage them to adopt non-hateful attitudes/lifestyles?

I am worried that our collective reaction to them only serves to provide the attention they desire and prompts their continued pestering and harassment.

Here's a quote from their the new bit of literature on their site:

Her anti-white newsgroup is at: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/olyunity/ We urge all White Patriots to infiltrate: subscribe to her rantings. Let's keep the enemy busy deleting posts, screening emails and going nuts trying to censor racialist comments.

Traitor Sarah's email is: olyunity@gmail.com

We have also identified other anti-white criminals: Anna Schlecht, Cindy Corrie, Rob Whitlock, Dave Neiwert, Rick McKinnon(email), Rob Richards, Drew Hendricks.

Sarah's partner in crime is Dave.

I understand the need to shut them down, but I think we need to think about the consequences of spending our energy on them, versus other projects.

I think our ultimate goal should be the elimination of whatever is/ are the underlying cause(s), which result in and provoke these types of violent and hateful behaviors/attitudes.

»

Did they get all of this info

Did they get all of this information (names) from OlyBlog?
»

That's the looks of it.

That's the looks of it.
»

I wish one would post, even i

I wish one would post, even if under a handle.
»

Me too. I'd appreciate actual

Me too. I'd appreciate actual discussion.
»

Pretty much, the racists hate

Pretty much, the racists hate the anti-occupation crowd. Not new news there and nothing to be ashamed of. I don't know whether it's better to confront them or leave them alone. Either way, they'll trumpet it as a victory. I would wonder though, if the list of supposed "traitors" and the encouragement of sending hate mail to them doesn't constitute harrassment. If so, maybe all those listed on the site could file a restraining order against this organization or the pople in it, such as Mr. Ramsey. It might be useful if they intend to march anywhere around town where the people they are harassing might be hanging out. I think the site itself is hosted on a GoDaddy.com server, but need to check that out further. I don't know what sort of policies they might have (or if it's not GoDaddy, then whatevever company is hosting them) about hate speech, spam, malware or harrasssment, but it might be worth looking into and sending that business a few emails about this site targetting specific people in Olympia for harrassment and intimidation. I'm also not sure what the domain name registrar's policies are on hate speech, but it might be worth investigating and contacting them as well. Considering that these people are listing names and locations and private details of individuals, I think it becomes a safety matter. The whois information on their servers is here: Whois info for the site can be found by entering the url at http://whois.melbourneit.com If anyone wanted to contact the hosting providers, the bove information can show you who they are. Personally, I think meeting these people in the streets for a shouting match is a waste of time, but that doesn't meant that the issue should be ignored. We should rally around all those who they target, but let's use something they have a severe shortage of: intelligence. Keep on keepin' on
»

NSM Disclaimer: The NSM is a

NSM Disclaimer: The NSM is a strictly legal organization: we do not endorse or promote any illegal activity. Some images copyrighted.

The Fire: Basically, they're going to produce personal information of their enemies using public record (which is legal, though irresponsible).

They, like other organizations who use such tactics, know there are members within the group they cannot control and may operate outside of the "official" NSM banner.

»

And that is the concern.

And that is the concern.
»

The legal issues vary, but I

The legal issues vary, but I think they cross some lines when they say things like the following:

"We urge all White Patriots to infiltrate: subscribe to her rantings. Let's keep the enemy busy deleting posts, screening emails and going nuts trying to censor racialist comments."

That's, to me, a direct, sponsored incitement to harass and intimidate an individual. Aside from that, different hosting companies have different policies in their attempts to curb spam and hate speech. The law doesn't apply with this different hosting company's own policies. It's up to them.

Besides, "racialist"? Is that a word? Is it somehow to sound more rational with the extra "ali" in there? They've got some mightly clever people in marketing.

Keep on keepin' on
»

Logical inconsistencies and f

Logical inconsistencies and fallacies, spelling and grammatical inaccuracies, abound to the point of, well... sadness.
»

Since talk of caimans usually

Since talk of caimans usually cheers some of us up, and provides some distraction, maybe it is time for another round of caiman puns and sighting reports.
»

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

OlyBlog.net

OlyBlog is devoted to hyperlocal news and discussion specifically about Olympia, Washington. Contributors to OlyBlog are citizen journalists who care about their community and are tired of corporate media.

If you'd like to contribute, please register for an account. Here is a list of local news beats that need to be covered. You can post your news as a personal blog entry, and it will be reviewed (and possibly edited) for promotion to the front page. You can also send news via email. All members of OlyBlog agree to abide by our Social Contract. You should also look at our comment and fair use policies. If you are frustrated about something said in a comment thread, go here.

Olyblogger of the Month:

decorabilia

Sponsored by:

Docents are fellow citizen journalists who volunteer to be at your service in order to help with any blog-related issues. They are:

Rob Richards
Interests: community building; participatory art, democracy and economics; local politics; citizen journalism.

emmettoconnell
Interests: City Council, developing a local issues forum.

enpen
Interests: OlyBlog calendar, Oly street art, local artist interviews, his family, poetry and stuff.

Robert Whitlock
Interests: peace, justice, nature, nonviolence, media, environment

Rick
Interests: citizen journalism, hyperlocal media, the knowledge commons.

Nazis come to OlyWa: A history (so far)

Get Firefox!

OlyBlog is a site for news and discussion about Olympia, Washington.
free hit counter